RSS

Ultrasound from Hell and what-not

14 Sep

So, it’s been forever and a day that I’ve written here.  My life has ramped up with activities since my daughter got back from the summer at her dads.  I’ve gone from a very mello pace to go-go but not quite to the go-go-go speed yet.

Let’s see, I owe you all a follow-up to the ultrasound from hell (thyroid).  First, the test found I have Hashimoto’s Disease which I already knew about 25+ years ago.  So that was a ‘whatever’ moment.  They also noticed a node/nodule on the front portion of my thyroid.  No wonder I hated it when the tech was doing that portion of the test.  Truly hated, hated, hated it!  I go back in a year to repeat the ultrasound to check on the nodule size.  My thyroid medicine also has been reduced a lot.  I get the lovely pepto bismal colored pills now.  At least I can find it if I drop it!  

Moving on to the episode of hell during the ultrasound…..  I did actually go to my primary doctor after calling my neuro first, then calling the endo to let them know.   Off I go to the primary care.  Everyone seems to agree it was probably a vasovagal response which is nothing to worry about if it doesn’t happen repeatedly.  However,  what about the vibrations in my arms?!  Well, I seem to have stumped everyone with the description of that.  A jackhammer inside my skin and my arms not visibly shaking (or I don’t think they were).  My primary thinks that it might possibly have been some type of seizure since I was wiped out with exhaustion the rest of that day and all the next day.  Verdict:  Well, if it doesn’t happen again don’t worry about it.  Your brain was probably throwing all sorts of electrical charges out once I sat up and whatever was ‘pinched’ to cause the feeling of ‘kill me now I feel like shit’ became unpinched.  My response:  Thrilling  That’s sarcasm folks.    

I haven’t had any more episodes and I’ve actually been feeling pretty good.  Every day is different and it’s always different with intensity too but I’ve been good in general.  Now I wish I could stop eating and get control of my weight issues.  grrrrrrr  I swear part of my brain is damaged by the MS that controls eating.  I swear!

I have basically stopped going to workout because…..my daughter is back.  Instead of going there, I race home after work to pick her up and then race her over to some activity.  We’ve got volleyball, tennis, volleyball, and pageants.  Oh, and now…after months and months and months of no action on the modeling/acting front for her….she is getting some inquiries from agencies.  Long car rides to come from it all.   Whew!  On top of that I try to take pictures of her  and work on pageant clothing (sewing).  So, maybe I’m not really keeping stress out of my life.  It doesn’t help matters I’m also drinking a crap-load of caffeine again which makes me very irritable.  I must, must, must stop that again!  

What else is going on?  Well, my daughter’s fish died so we had to have a funeral for it last week.  I tend to laugh at inappropriate times because I find some things funny that others wouldn’t.  In any case, I did have to cover my face when I found out when my daughter and hubby were getting the fish out of the tank the tail fell off.  I know, I know!  It shouldn’t be funny.  Um, well it was hilarious to me as I stood there with my hands over my face and laughing so hard I’m crying. I alway start crying when I laugh hard.  It’s a family trait it seems.

Okay, enough for today.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on September 14, 2012 in Humor, Life, Multiple Sclerosis, Thyroid

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “Ultrasound from Hell and what-not

  1. Karen

    September 14, 2012 at 2:24 pm

    Must be a trait. I find the tail falling off incident pretty funny. I think I would have been right there with you. 🙂

     
  2. Integrator

    September 26, 2012 at 10:25 am

    The nodule in isthmus if large enough can look like an Adam’s apple!

     
    • kerrieb40

      October 1, 2012 at 11:20 am

      You know what?! I just noticed that exact same thing looking in the mirror the other day. Ugh. How embarrassing for a female! lol

       
      • Integrator

        October 3, 2012 at 7:37 am

        I have read about procedure called PEI that used to treat recurrent cystic nodules and benign colloid nodules by injecting ethanol into the nodule. Such procedure is was around since 1990s but still not commonly used.

         
  3. Lisa@Sonographer

    November 5, 2013 at 8:26 am

    Please just be more patient when doing the ultrasound. I believe your technician is doing the best that he can to give you a comfortable “journey.” I’ve attended to quite a few patients like you before. I’m glad that you’re doing okay now. The busyness will keep you covered from too much thinking.

     
  4. Boris

    March 2, 2014 at 11:05 am

    Buy your dauget newer and bigger aquarium 🙂 I have bought 150 litres some days ago it looks fatastic and spend more time with your daughter.

     

Leave a Reply

 
