RSS

Headaches are out to get me

09 Aug

(I HATE having to come up with blog post titles. I seriously suck at it)

Hello peeps, I know you have all been waiting on the wonderful happenings of me. I’ve been off caffeine now since….hmmm…well awhile now. I sometimes think about having a tea from McDonalds but have avoided it so far. Water is what I drink. I like water so that is a good thing. My skin has really improved.  I’m still attempting to eat real foods but there are days that I find that hard to do.  If I do allow myself something that has sugar in it, I find that I start craving it for the rest of the day and even several days after it.  I must be super sensitive to its effects.  That’s just great…NOT!  It’s frustrating and pisses me off especially since I love sweets.  I’ve been having nasty-ass headaches and have pinpointed it to 1) I’m lying down and 2) I’m sleeping.  (These are a pain in the ass…oh wait, I meant head.)  They are centered above my left eye and won’t go away with Tylenol or ibuprofen.  I did notice that if I laid on my left-side that the pain would dull enough to let me fall asleep or would go completely away.  Most nights (5 out of 7 days) these suckers would wake me up in the middle of the night and I was always on my back or right side.  So, I roll over to the left and then it starts fading.   My left arm has also been falling asleep whether lying or just sitting somewhere.  I finally called Dr. M even though I really didn’t want to.  I forced myself to make the call because of the weird left side connection.  I’m thinking blood blockages and such. The conclusion?  I’m back on the Flexeril at night.  I had cut it out back when I cut out Betaseron.  I’m not thrilled I have to take it again, but I haven’t had a headache since starting so I guess I’m relieved.

I found another weird symptom that I’m assuming is MS related.  It’s kind of bizarre and I haven’t heard anyone talking about this so maybe I’m just crazy.  What is it you ask?  Well, I’ll tell you.  I can be standing (usually) or sitting, and I will feel a vibration on my upper left outer thigh.  When this happens I reach into my pocket for my cell phone thinking its vibrating.  (No shit, this is exactly what it feels like!).  I don’t find my phone in my pocket (because I rarely do that but it is just instinct to reach for it) and then proceed to glance down at the location.  I have no idea what I am actually looking for….perhaps I think I have a bee or something there?!?.  Who knows really what I’m doing.  In any case, I end up a little dumbfounded and hoping no one sees me acting a little odd. In any case, the vibration only lasts a few seconds and then its gone. It’s always on that left side (again with the left side!)  Weird, right?  Yea, that’s me.

I’m still trekking to the fitness club about 4x a week.  Hydro-massage is heavenly.  Oh, about the massage.  There are pressure settings on how intense you want the pressure.  I typically use about a 3 or 4 initially and then less as the time passes.  The lowest setting is kind of interesting in the fact that I can pinpoint where I have less feeling in my legs.  I’m not sure ‘feeling’ is the right word but it sort of mimics the neuro’s exam when they poke you with a pin or when they use that vibrating stick (yes, I know there is a name for it but I have no idea what it is so…whatever).   Thanks goodness I’m not pressure-sensitive there with touch.  I cringe with pain / uncomfortableness when someone lightly touches my upper arms.  I pat, a rub, leaning on me.  All those make me jump back and get angry.  Of course, other people do not know I’m experiencing this pain sensation so can get quite hurt when I tell them ‘Do Not Touch Me!’.  Live and learn peeps.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 9, 2012 in Life, Multiple Sclerosis

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Headaches are out to get me

  1. Renee' Ramlow

    August 9, 2012 at 12:36 pm

    if you can’t explain it easily – Its from MS.

     
  2. Renee' Ramlow

    August 9, 2012 at 4:01 pm

    Oh just thought of this. Have you read the article on sodium build up in the brain and how it relates to MS? I thought it was interesting and alot of the parts of the brain that were affected in the study were the same as what is going on in my head. Also thanks for taking time to write today.

     

Leave a Reply

 
