RSS

Update-a-roni

10 Jul

This morning I started up on the Betaseron shots again.  My doctor is using me as a lab experiment to see if it is the medication that makes me feel like crapola.  (Why, yes, I know it is.  Let’s just go with that).  I’m on .25 dosage which is not much at all.  I hate throwing out good medicine that is still in the vial.  It seems like a waste of money but you do whatcha gotta do.  I’m totally stressing about what new medication I will be prescribed because of the whole insurance thing with what they will cover, etc (and the nasty copay I may have).

I was doing great on my diet up until about a week (plus another half but I didn’t really want to say that.  Hey that cats out of the bag now!  ((Who put the cat in a bag?))).  Today I am trying to be good and stick to the plan completely. After about 3 days all the sugar cravings (or carbs) will cease and it will become easier.  I’m not sure why I went off the plan.  I was doing great.  Oh well, one of those things I guess.   I know I definitely felt better on it and some aches actually came back when I started eating gobs of sugar again.  So, I need to remember that I experience pain when I eat bad things.  Sugar addiction / carb addiction is REAL, PEOPLE!  Nasty stuff (but tastes so yummy).

Current symptoms I’ve been having that I relate to MS:

1.  While walking to my car, all of a sudden, I get this strange sensation in my head and I start leaning forward and to the left and start walking at an angle rather than straight, which is what I was trying to do.  Luckily it lasted for about 6 steps and was over with.  My head still felt weird for a few hours though.

2.  I seem to not be lifting my right foot up high enough when getting in or out of cars.  I’ve stumbled 5 times in the past couple of weeks.

3.  My whole body jerks when about to fall asleep. I have no idea if this is MS related but a couple of nights ago it did it three times in a row.  VERY annoying.

4.  My energy is still with me since being off the meds.  I’ve been able to do so many things.  I can’t believe for 5 months I lived with feeling like crap.  It feels good to feel somewhat normal.  (Although many will tell you I’m not very normal.  *giggle*)

I’m starting to feel stressed out again or should I say anxious.  There are many reasons.  I’m pretty much in a sad state of mind and have been for a long time now.  That definitely takes a toll on me and stress in life for me.

 

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 10, 2012 in Life, Multiple Sclerosis

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Update-a-roni

  1. annafiskthinking

    July 19, 2012 at 1:16 am

    The meds are terrible. They – the neuros- started me on Betaseron, and when i couldnt tolerate the side effects, they switched me to copaxone- not any better. I realized very quickly- like a year and a half- that the MEDS were making me feel WORSE than nothing at all. So i quit them. Not saying you should. But i felt like i was paying a neurologist 250 a visit to tell me to take some medication they really knew very little about in reality (see the new study on the interferons) because, frankly, they can do very little when it comes to MS. Thats just the truth of it. At this point in my MS, I know as much as they do- because I look things up through legitimate sites- and know MUCH more than they could ever tell me about MY MS. Ive just heard so many horrid tales of MSers who’s neuro brushed them aside. . . and also, MSers whos friends and family have as well. I think we all go through it.
    Anyhow. I feel you on your symptoms. Its scary sh*t when you’re first diagnosed. A flood of emotions.
    You just do YOU. Let yourself experience your grief. You’ll figure out what the best next step is…for YOU.

     

Leave a Reply

 
