RSS

The world is coming to an end….

28 Feb

…because I just signed up for a 5K marathon.

I’m not a runner. Never have been. Never will be. I do no exercise. I am carrying around way too much weight.

Why did I sign up? Hmmm, well I feel I need to do something out of my comfort zone. I also need to get healthy in some aspect of my life. Maybe this will be the kick in the ass I need.

My hubby and my daughter will also be participating so I won’t be alone. My plan is that my daughter will go ‘train’ for this for the next six weeks. She is super healthy and fit and, well, I’m not. She does great with encouragement and I think I’ll be okay with feeling like a total blob trying to run with her next to me. (I’m just a tad bit self-conscious, can you tell? *smile*)

I wonder how all my MS stuff will impact my training. I wonder how much of my aches & pains can actually go away if I can get any of this weight off and a tiny bit fit. Maybe this whole marathon thing will push me to make other changes in my life and hey, maybe the training will decrease some of the constant stress. Then I may actually stop eating the way I do.

Wish me luck because I’m definitely going to need it.

Updated:  I have not been training for this at all. Two weeks gone and no progress towards being able to walk the darn marathon let alone run it!  Yeah, this is not going to happen.  I just know it.  It was a good thought at the time but really it was totally beyond what was going to happen.   The only excuse is that I’m depressed about so many things that I just don’t want to do crap if I don’t have to.  This is something I don’t have to do.  No one else is counting on me.  So I’m basically saying screw it.  On top of all that, the past 3 weeks my left foot has some stupid pain in it that I think is another neuroma (I’ve already had 3 surgeries for neuromas in that foot) or maybe I have some type of fracture.  I have no idea because I haven’t made time to go to the doctor.  Ugh.  You have no idea how hard it is to be stuck in a depression for months and month where you just want to become invisible and hide…..but you can’t.   You can’t just run away because there are too many responsibilities.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 28, 2012 in Multiple Sclerosis

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “The world is coming to an end….

  1. Happy Runner

    February 28, 2012 at 3:45 pm

    Good luck! Don’t forget to practice the big smile for the finish line! 🙂

     
  2. ms guided journey

    February 28, 2012 at 7:45 pm

    Wow lofty goal! Just go at it gradually or it may stress you out more! Good luck.

     
  3. anothergoodday

    March 2, 2012 at 8:30 am

    You can do this! Congratulations on signing up! I have a terrible time talking myself into riding our stationary bike, so what you are doing is awesome!

     
  4. quietms

    March 2, 2012 at 9:25 pm

    Go for it. Running had really made a big difference for me, it’s hard at the start, but if you persist, you’ll find it rewarding and enjoyable (yes, yes, really).

     

Leave a Reply

 
