RSS

Oh Bother!

24 Feb

I haven’t really had much to write about so I’ve been kind of quiet with posts. Sometimes I just can’t even figure out what to write about. This all must be extremely boring to read actually. Who really wants to hear about all the crap going on in my life with this MS? Sometimes I just feel like I’m a whiner or something. *smile* Well maybe I am! This is the only place I can whine. I hate whining to people in person. So, I do it here.

Here comes the whining….

I am now on the .50 dosage of the medication. The first one at this level I shot in to my upper arm area. This was the first time that I had muscle ache/pain lasting for about 48 hours. Certain movements of my arm were very uncomfortable. But I did survive it.

The last several days I’ve had all the muscle weakness pain crap going on. It feels like I was in a bad accident with the type of soreness this is. Today my upper back/neck is messed up even worse with sharp pains. I have limited range of turning my head either direction and it is stiffening up even more as the hours tick by. *sigh* The sucky part of this muscle crap is that I take Flexiril every night before bed. The nights I have the Betaseron shot I take two instead of just one. You would think that taking a muscle relaxant like this I wouldn’t have any pain when I wake up. NOT! On top of that my eyes are killing me and my vision was blurry today when I was driving. That’s always fun especially with the monsoon winds that seemed to be occurring at 5AM this morning.

I decided to give up pop (soda) for Lent and so far I haven’t slipped up! (amazing for me. ha) I have been drinking more water and slowly also trying to kill my tea addiction. I also decided to not eat any candy and to try to avoid high-fructose corn syrup (article about issues with HFCS). I’m trying to give up the other desserts & sweets too but so far that has been a complete losing streak.

I started taking Evening Primrose Oil capsules (1300mg) and Bee Pollen (500mg right now but will probably up to 1000 in about a week). I’m also going to start B12 supplements.

It seems I have just two side effects that I can figure out that is related to the Betaseron at this point. The first one is insomnia. The Flexiril helps with this though (as long as I haven’t run out like I did this past weekend. grrrr). The other is really really bad acid reflux to the point that it is also very painful as the food passes down my esophagus. It’s not the swallowing that hurts but I can actually feel the food pass down my esophagus about mid-throat. This hurts really bad some days. Of course, I would get a side effect that is rarely known with Betaseron but according to my neuro this is one. Go figure!

Today is one of those days I wish I was just curled up in my bed because everything hurts.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 24, 2012 in Multiple Sclerosis

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Oh Bother!

  1. Karen

    February 24, 2012 at 11:01 am

    Steve & I gave up hfc’s a couple of years ago. It certainly keeps us out of the middle aisles of the grocery store. It’s amazing the things that it can be in; kidney beans (who knew?)
    I have a HUGE addiction to sugar. Christmas nearly did me in so I decided to give up all sweets & desserts. In order to keep on track I i record in my calendar, adding another day for each successful day. The first couple of weeks was the hardest. Taking one day at a time I am currently up to 55 days. It sure makes fruit taste really yummy!!!

    Good luck to you.

     
    • kerrieb40

      February 24, 2012 at 1:39 pm

      You guys are so good with your eating & exercise and you have been for years. Wish I had your strength and ability to stick to it, but alas I don’t. I’m slowly trying to change some things. I need to change more now than ever. Unfortunately with stress (which I seem to be under constantly without it letting up) I fall back on eating (all bad for you foods) and shopping (and I have too much stuff). Great job of the 55 days and counting!! That is awesome!!!!! It truly is amazing how much food has HFCS in it. I can’t understand why they had to go and just dump that stuff in everything! Sickening and gross (but sadly I’m addicted to sugars anyway).

       
  2. Christine Kincaid Semel

    February 24, 2012 at 6:46 pm

    I enjoy reading about you “whinning”. I can relate to your situation, while I don’t have MS, I am dealing with debilitating and chronic migraines. I feel your pain and frustration!!! Like you, I don’t like to talk about my pain. It just feels wrong to complain but some days I just break down as well! It helps to be able to relate to someone else about pain and frustration! So you are helping one person with your blog, me. Thanks Kerrie

     
  3. musingsofms

    February 25, 2012 at 4:05 pm

    You’re not whining, you’re telling us about your MS and unfortunately what may seem like whining is just a part of what the disease is. I take Copaxone so I don’t get the flu like symptoms. I wish I had advice for you about that. I do, however, have acid reflux and am all too familiar with heartburn. It stinks! I’ve been taking something for it for years and my MS definitely made it worse. I’m not sure if it’s the Copaxone or the stress of having MS and all that comes with it? I’m now on Dexilant and if I don’t take it every morning at least a half hour before I eat or drink anything I suffer. What’s one more pill, right!

     
  4. bruce pelham

    February 27, 2012 at 9:00 am

    I read about your experience with meds and I wonder why someone would subject themselves to this. None of the meds available even purport to cure MS. They claim to improve various symptoms. They don’t even have any proof of that. None! My question is why do you do this to you?

    Each of the meds have side effects ranging from shortness of breath to possible death. The pharmaceuticals supported by the NMSSociety constantly claim progress. None since I was diagnose in the early nineties. More meds and more money for the pharmaceuticals while patients suffer. I never took meds. My symptoms and my plaque are gone. It took lots of work but no meds!

     
    • kerrieb40

      February 28, 2012 at 2:14 pm

      I’m a newbie to this whole diagnosis. Right now I’m taking the steps my doctor suggests because I am a newbie. I’m am starting to look into more natural ways and see what options are out there…if any. I have a lot of issues to resolve before I can just go full force into a healthy diet. I see the diet that Dr. Wahl’s used and I want to be able to do that but I just don’t have the mental strength to handle it right now. I’m trying to take the steps so that maybe….someday….do something different than just rely on the meds.

       

Leave a Reply

 
