RSS

Day 10: What? What? Bubbles to be history?

14 Jan

CRAP!  Last  night as I sat soaking in a hot bubble bath (because baths are awesome and I have a huge tub and it is the bestest thing ever!!  My total relaxation…totally) I was reading the book I mentioned in my post yesterday:  Day 9: What Shall I Read?  Guess what I stumbled across and read??  I was horrified by this. Can you guess?  NO MORE HOT BATHS as it, for some reason, can make MS start blazing.  No, NO, NOOOOO!!!!!!  How can this be?  This just sucks!!!  It says to relax in a nice tepid or lukewarm bath to relax but never hot baths.  Who the hell wants to take a tepid or lukewarm bath???  NOT ME!  Ick!!!  (Damn, I use exclamation marks a lot.)

I’m mad at that book now.  It has taken the one thing I look forward to almost every night and eliminated it.  Just like that.  No warning at all.

Maybe I should be more concerned (worried?) about other things in the book but this one small sentence is what did it for me.   The mystery of this illness and how it will affect me is not bothering me but not taking my long, glorious bath (while reading a book) is devastating.  *sigh*  I guess I’ll clean the giant beast bathtub one last time and retire it.  Ooohh, I’ve got an idea!  Maybe I’ll fill it in with plants!!!  HA

 

 

 

 

 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 14, 2012 in Multiple Sclerosis

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Day 10: What? What? Bubbles to be history?

  1. Carla

    January 14, 2012 at 4:45 pm

    I, too, am a bath-a-holic. I don’t take “hot” baths, but really really really warm ones. I honestly haven’t had any bad stuff happen with my MS after one. I know MS is different for everyone. Now, outside heat, turns me into a slug. Bath water and my “Kiss My Face” Patchouli body wash/bubbles do not. I am one grateful human. I’ve found I’m not as crabby if I can get in my tub and soak a while and make bubble piles on my knees. My hubby put me a huge long nickel plated handle I use for a “grab bar” in a stud next to my tub wall. I use it to get in and out and it makes my bathroom not seem overtly “handicap” oriented. 🙂 I do have to use a non-skid bath mat because, hello…the tile floor becomes a slip-n-slide for me if I don’t.

     
  2. winsomebella

    January 14, 2012 at 6:03 pm

    Plants in the tub sounds like an excellent idea. Hugs. You deserve a zillion for your lovely attitude.

     
  3. overcoming1

    February 17, 2012 at 2:42 pm

    I once got into a hot tub, with no prior knowledge of the ‘hot bath no-no’s’. I was totally freaked out not 2 mins in. My previous symptoms returned, right there in the hot tub. I had had optic neuritis so the vision in my right eye started to disappear and my tingly, prickly legs started to act up. I removed myself pronto, and within 30 mins the symptoms were gone. I spoke to my neurologist regarding this and he told me it was normal for some but that it would not hurt me or bring on anything new. I stayed away from the hot tubs for a while~who wouldn’t? But that was years ago and I am happy to say, that now, I can go into hot tubs, have hot baths and showers with no ill effects what so ever. Not even the slightest of a previous symptom.
    My point is this; with I was told (my Dr. assured me that I was not going to harm myself)~ Enjoy your bath if it is not an issue with you. If it becomes an issue~rethink it (and I do like the plant idea!)
    I think if your bath means so much to you that it’s a part of the day that you look forward to, and it relaxes you~ keep on with it until, God forbid, you can’t.
    Sometimes books with ALL the answers tend to bring in fear. Don’t allow that fear! Look up the things you need to but don’t overwhelm yourself with the stuff that doesn’t pertain to you at this point. That stuff can just go on a shelf for future reference.
    Take your fantasy novel in the bath with you and enjoy it!

     

Leave a Reply

 
